SPOONER CITY COUNCIL MINS REORGANIZATIONAL MTG Apr 15, 2025 5:00 pm

- 1. Call to Order; Mayor Cuskey called mtg to order at 5:00 p.m.
- 2. Roll Call; 8 present, 0 absent
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance;
- 4. Mayor's Comments;
- None.
- 5. Oath of Office;
- City Clerk Lyons-Hartwig administered Oath of Office to all elected officials.
- 6. Committee appointments; (attached)
- Motion (Gabriel/Everroad) to approve Council committee appts as presented. PASSED. 7. Election of Council President;
- Motion (Everroad/Dohm) to elect Daryl Gabriel for Council President. Mayor called 3 times for other nominations. Hearing none. PASSED. 8. Appointment to Railroad Park Board:

υ.	Appointment to Namoau Lark L	Juaru.	
		Michael Macone	04/15/25 – 04/17/28
		Tim Belter	04/15/25 - 04/17/28
		Jamie Ingham	04/18/23 - 04/20/26
		0	
9.	Appointment to Plan Commission	on:	
		Jim Deutsch	04/15/25 - 04/17/28
10. Appointment of members to Board of Appeals:			
-		Jim Deutsch	04/15/25 - 04/17/28
		-	

11. Appointment of members to Business Improvement District:

Carol Dunn	04/15/25 – 04/19/27
Donald Strunk	04/15/25 – 04/19/27
Mary Benson	04/15/25 - 04/19/27
Vicki Shaffer	04/15/25 – 04/19/27

Koverman noted Item 8, Jamie Ingham should be removed as there wasn't open seat. Jon Alesch was mistakenly left off of board and his term hasn't expired. He was appointed 2024 mid-year when Terri Reiter stepped down.

Motion (Parker/Oja) to approve committee appointments, items 8 – 11, with removal of Jamie Ingham from Railroad Park Board. PASSED.

- 12. Appointment of David Olson as Weed Commissioner;
- 13. Appointment of Nick Koverman as representative to Fire District, Appointment of Mayor as alternate;
- 14. Appointment of Nick Koverman as representative to Washburn County Economic Development Authority;
- 15. Appointment of Nick Koverman as representative to Washburn County Transit Commission;
- 16. Appointment of Nick Koverman as representative to Visions Northwest Board; Motion (Everroad/Oja) to approve committee appointments as listed, items 12 – 16. PASSED.
- 17. Adjournment;
- Motion (Lake/Krueger) to adjourn mtg. PASSED. Mtg adjourned at 5:09 p.m.

ATTESTED BY:

Gary J. Cuskey, Mayor Krista J. Lyons-Hartwig, City Clerk/Treasurer

CITY OF SPOONER <u>2025</u> <u>**** COUNCIL MEMBERS AND COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS ***</u> GARY J. CUSKEY - MAYOR

Jim Dohm 2024-2026 721 Myra St. 635-8341	District 1	Kurtiss Krueger 2025-2027 924 Elm St. 520-2401
Finance Personnel		Safety & Licensing-Chair Personnel
John Parker 2025-2027 1207 Erie St. 635-3203	District 1	Antonett Montoya-Oja 2024-2026 721 Benjamin 416-0309
Plan Commission Municipal Operations		Property Planning & Development Library Liaison Safety & Licensing
Daryl Gabriel 2024-2026 621 First St. 635-9373	District 2	Carol Dunn 2024-2026 614 Franklin St. 635-7957

Finance Plan Commission Property Planning & Development Chair Personnel - Chair **Redevelopment Authority**

Drew Lake 2025-2027 1107 Harrison St. 520-0341

Finance Personnel **Municipal Operations** Tree Board

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

April 15, 2025

FIRST NAMED TO BE CHAIR:

FINANCE COMMITTEE - Dunn, Lake, Gabriel, Everroad, Dohm

- Finance & Budget Α.
- Β. **Capital Improvements**
- C. **Tourism Commission**

**Finance members also sit on Board of Review

MUNICIPAL OPERATIONS COMMITTEE - Everroad, Lake, Parker

- Board of Public Works Α.
- Β. Parks & Recreation
- Street & Alley C.
- D. Utility (2006)

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE - Gabriel, Dunn, Lake, Krueger, Dohm

PROPERTY PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE - Gabriel, Montoya-Oja, Dunn

- **Public Property** Α.
- Planning & Industrial Development В.

SAFETY & LICENSING COMMITTEE - Krueger, Everroad, Montoya-Oja

- Α. Public Safety
- Licensing & Communication Β.
- C. Deeds and Insurance
- D. Publicity and Historical

Respectfully submitted, Gary J. Cuskey, Mayor City of Spooner

FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES - LISTING OF OTHER BOARDS, COMMISSIONS AND COMMITTEES City Code of Ordinances, Section 2-4

BOARD OF REVIEW - Mayor, Clerk, members of Finance Committee and two citizen members:

Citizens:	Missy Gauger	04/16/24 - 04/20/26
	Jim Heim	04/16/24 - 04/20/26

BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT -

Mary Benson	04/15/25 - 04/19/27
Carol Dunn	04/15/25 - 04/19/27
Donald Strunk	04/15/25 - 04/19/27
Vicki Shaffer	04/15/25 - 04/19/27
Lisa Olson	04/16/24 - 04/20/26
Kris Busch	04/16/24 - 04/20/26
Monica Biernier	04/16/24 - 04/20/26

LIBRARY BOARD - 43.54 State Statutes, 7 member board - terms commencing July 1st each year, 3 year terms, with 2 additional members appointed by County

School Representative -	Kali Fizel	07/01/23 - 06/30/26
Council Representative -	Antonett Montoya-Oja	04/16/24 - 04/20/26
Citizens:	Christine Bruce	07/01/22 - 06/30/25
	Carol Waltz	07/01/23 – 06/30/26
	Audrey Kevan	07/01/23 - 06/30/26
	Melanie Skoff	07/01/24 – 06/30/27
	Samuel Clair	04/18/23 - 06/30/26
Appointed by County:	Jocelyn Ford	05/01/24 - 04/30/27
	Sandy Johnson	05/01/24 - 04/30/27

Finance-Chair Personnel Property Planning

Esa Everroad 137 Walnut 416-0886

2025-2027

Safety & License Finance Municipal Operations-Chair

District 2

<u>PLAN COMMISSION –</u> The plan commission shall consist of the mayor who shall be the presiding officer, the city engineer/council designee, one alderperson, the chair of the property planning and development committee and three citizens of the city (appointed by the Mayor, subject to council confirmation, 3-year term). The city attorney shall attend all commission meetings unless excused by the presiding officer.

Presiding Officer - Engineer/Council Designee -	Mayor Gary J. Cuskey Bill Marx	04/16/24 – 04/19/27	
Property Planning & Develop. Com. Chair - Council Representative - Citizens:	Daryl Gabriel John Parker Dwight Marquardt Jim Deutsch Rick Coquillette	04/16/24 - 04/20/26 04/15/25 - 04/19/27 04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/15/25 04/17/28 04/16/24 - 04/19/27	
	abors and 2 alternates 3	voar torme	
BOARD OF APPEALS - 5 mem Citizens: Alternates:	Darren Vik Jean Parker Jim Heim Tony Baier Jim Deutsch Vacant	04/18/23 - 04/20/26 04/18/23 - 04/20/26 04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/15/25 - 04/17/28 04/16/24 - 04/19/27	
	Vacant	04/16/24 – 04/19/27	
REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORI		5 - 2 Council members who serve during their term of office as 5 non-council members serve for 4-year terms	
Council Representative - Chairman - Citizens:	Daryl Gabriel Vacant Vacant Vacant Tony Baier Jim Heim Jim Deutsch	04/16/24 - 04/20/26 04/16/24 - 04/20/26 04/15/25 - 04/16/29 04/15/25 - 04/16/29 04/18/23 - 04/19/27 04/18/23 - 04/19/27 04/18/23 - 04/19/27	
		l only, 3 year terms (staggered initially) per of Municipal Operations	
Council Representative - Citizens:	Drew Lake Samuel Clair Tami Holden Ryan Spahn Vacant Renae Essenn	04/15/25 04/19/27 04/18/23 04/20/26 04/16/24 04/19/27 04/16/24 04/19/27 04/16/24 04/19/27 nacher 04/16/24 04/19/27	
RAILROAD PARK BOARD – Created 12/07/10 – Advisory board only, 3 year terms (staggered initially)			
Citizens:	Dave Mills, Chair Michael Macone Tim Belter Jorgan Staupe Ken Staves Jacquie Buchmann Jamie Ingham Jon Alesch Greg Vreeland Gary Cuskey	04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/15/25 - 04/17/28 04/15/25 - 04/17/28 04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/16/24 - 04/19/27 04/18/23 - 04/20/26 (unexpired term) 11/07/24 - 04/20/26 (completing term) Exofficio Exofficio - Permanent	
<u>SPOONER DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION</u> – Created 10/02/12 – Independent Corp., 4 year terms (staggered initially)			
Council Representative -	Daryl Gabriel	04/16/24 – 04/17/28	